Log InSign Up
Back to News

TransWorld Skateboarding Announces Nominees for the 9th Annual Skateboarding Awards

System User

TransWorld Skateboarding Announces Nominees for the 9th Annual Skateboarding Awards

25th Anniversary Celebration Awards Hosted by Jason Lee and Chris Pastras

Winners To Be Announced on June 7, 2007

Oceanside, Calif.-May 7, 2007- TransWorld SKATEboarding, the world’s number one skateboard magazine, announced the nominees for the 9th Annual TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards today. The winners will be named during a live event on June 7, 2007 at the Avalon in Hollywood, California.

The TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards honor skateboarding’s top riders, presenting eight awards to professional skateboarders in the categories of: Best Rookie, Best Street Skater, Best Vert/Mega Skater, Best Team, Best Video, Best Video Part, Readers’ Choice and the Legend Award.

The award winners are determined by polling more than 150 professional skateboarders worldwide with thousands of TransWorld SKATEboarding’s readers voting for the winner of the Readers’ Choice Award. This year’s Legend Award will be presented to one of skateboarding’s original superstars, Lance Mountain. Previous winners of this prestigious award have included Mark Gonzales, Natas Kaupas, and Steve Caballero.

This year’s Skate Awards will not only honor the best and brightest of today but it will also celebrate TransWorld SKATEboarding’s 25th year of the most acclaimed photography, art direction, and storytelling in skateboarding. To commemorate the occasion, the Awards show will include a special video montage of photographs and video clips chronicling 25 years of “skate and create”.

“The TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards are the only awards voted on by the pros themselves. No mall rats, no magazine nerds, no industry kooks: it’s 100% professional skateboarders casting the votes,” says Carleton Curtis, Managing Editor of TransWorld SKATEboarding. “If you win a TWS Award, it’s the most legitimate and most prestigious honor you can get. And with Jason Lee and Chris Pastras hosting this year’s event at our biggest venue yet, expect to see this party taken to absurd new heights.”

Here are the official nominees for the 9th Annual TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards:


Jake Duncombe
Tommy Sandoval
Braydon Szafranski
Bob Burnquist
Colin McKay
Danny Way




Bag of Suck
Krooked Kronichles
A Time To Shine


Mark Appleyard
Nick Dompierre
Jerry Hsu
Dan Drehobl
Jerry Hsu
Nick Trapasso


Chris Cole
Chris Haslam
Jerry Hsu


Lance Mountain

The 9th Annual TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards is proud to be associated with sponsors: Stereo Sound Agency, DC, Sun Diego, and Santa Cruz. For more information on TransWorld SKATEboarding and the TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards, please visit www.skateboarding.com.

About TransWorld SKATEboarding

TransWorld SKATEboarding has been the largest, most respected skateboarding magazine in the world for 25 years. Delivering the most innovative photography and cutting edge editorial, TransWorld SKATEboarding offers readers an inside look at skate culture through news, product reviews and in-depth profiles of the world’s top skateboarders, both in print and online at

TransWorld is a subsidiary of the Bonnier Corporation. Bonnier Corporation (www.bonniercorp.com) is one of the largest consumer-publishing groups in America and the leading media company serving passionate, highly engaged audiences through more than 40 special-interest magazines and related Web properties; television, cable, radio, VOD and mobile content; live events; and branded products.

1501 Lincoln Blvd.#1014 Venice, CA. 90291